Unexpectedly Expecting

The Adventures of One Woman's Journey Into Motherhood

Excitement in the air

on April 13, 2011

Tomorrow’s the big day! I honestly cannot wait to find out the sex of the baby. Joel and I have been discussing names recently but still seem to be stuck. Who knows… maybe the baby will remain nameless until we see him/her. Regardless, a major stepping stone in this process will occur once we hear “You’re having a …” that lets us call the baby “him or her” instead of “the baby.” 🙂

I just wanted to share a new picture that Lindsey took last night of my bump.

Baby bump at 20 weeks

And I wanted to share our adventure into listening to the baby. Joel had read online that you can use a stethoscope to listen to a baby in the womb. He wanted to hear the heartbeat but that will be many more weeks before that’s possible. He decided to try and see if he could still hear something. Interestingly, he picked an evening when the baby had been very active, at one point even moving my arm. So he put the stethoscope on my belly and heard something. (I didn’t hear anything when I listened about 10 minutes later, but I know he heard the baby moving.) He decided to listen to his belly to make sure it didn’t sound the same. Of course, it didn’t so he tried listening again but the baby apparently caught on to the gig and decided to not move for a while. I tried listening too but the baby was quiet. Anyway, it was a really neat moment for both of us. 🙂

I’ve found that the baby is most active around 9:30 in the morning right now. When I’m sitting at my desk at work, I feel like the baby keeps moving because I’m squishing him/her. I just can’t wait until Joel can feel the baby move. That will be amazing!

A side note to the baby chatter… we’ve had many inquiries into the house since we put the signs out last Monday. Many flyers have been taken and numerous phone calls and emails have been received asking questions about the house. All we need is one buyer and we’re on our way. I’m just excited that we’ve generated any interest at all this quickly!

I’ll be posting the news tomorrow once we find out the baby’s sex.

Excited!!!

2 responses to “Excitement in the air

  1. Susan H. says:

    Please post as soon as you know. I’m so eager to find out. 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    Waiting – waiting – waiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

