Unexpectedly Expecting

The Adventures of One Woman's Journey Into Motherhood

4 more weeks

on July 31, 2011

So we’ve been extremely busy over the last couple of weeks which means my time on the computer has been limited to non-existent. As you can imagine, my energy level has dropped dramatically with the heat, work, and busy-ness of getting ready for our little guy.  I have a ton of pictures to post so I’ll keep the writing to a minimum.

First, let me show you the most recent picture of Baby Spencer.

Yes, we decided to do a 3D ultrasound.  This was the best she could get last Tuesday but it’s good enough for us.  🙂  I love his pouty lips!!

To update you on the latest, I have been having weekly ultrasounds now for the past 4 weeks.  This past week was a major measuring of his size to make sure he’s still on track for normal delivery.  He is.  He weighed in at 5 lbs. which is exactly where the doctor wants him to be.  ALL of his measurements show he is right at average for this time in the pregnancy.  (We love average!)  Due to the gestational diabetes label, the doctor has already mentioned inducing at 39 weeks.  We feel pretty strong that the baby is doing fine and we won’t have to be induced.  We appreciate your prayers for us in this area as we desire to allow this baby to be born in God’s time and not man’s.

After battling my blood sugar levels, the doctor ended up putting me on a low dose of diabetes medication.  After a shaky start, I’m starting to figure things out.  She said she could take me back off the medication if I got back to controlling my diet.  I’m working hard to get there with the realization that all of this is only for a short time.

Several weeks ago, we went down to Atlanta to peruse the aisles at Ikea and see if we could find some cutie baby items for the nursery.  We ended up seeing several friends along the way.

Our friend Tracy met us bearing gifts, including a cake made of diapers and other baby needs.

Bella and Holle welcomed us to their house for some down time before Ikea.  Holle has truly blessed us with many clothes and other baby paraphernalia including the bassinet and bouncer, among many other items.

After Ikea, we had dinner with the Brogdons, who were in Atlanta for a conference.  What a pleasant surprise considering their home is in Illinois.  We were truly blessed and encouraged by the time spent with them.

Some dear friends of ours hosted a wonderful shower for us on the 16th.  We had a great time and were overwhelmed with the love and generosity shown to us.

Kori, Sarah, Jubilee, and Billi (along with Shann who’s not pictured) put together the baby shower.

Joel’s sister and her family were able to come up from Alabama and ended up staying the following week in Clayton.  I think they had a hard time heading back home as they truly enjoyed being in the mountains with their uncle and aunt.  🙂

A few pictures from the time spent with Joel’s sister, Rachel, and her family.

Eryn, Jocelyn, and Joel enjoying the cool weather at the cabin.

Dave, Kennan, and Joel fishing for trout in the Tallulah River.  Kennan turned out to be quite a fisherman!  I told him he needed to share some of his secrets with his dad.  😉

Isaac enjoying a gummy snake from Helen’s best candy store.

I may not get to eat real fudge right now, but just wait until this baby comes… Hansel and Gretel will be getting a visit from someone in the Spencer family.  🙂  For now, sugar free fudge is as close as I get.  Not a bad substitute but cost an arm and a leg.  😛

One last picture of the whole gang together at the cabin.

I was blessed to have another shower the following weekend hosted by two additional dear friends of mine.  We enjoyed some good time together talking baby stuff as one of the hosts is also pregnant with her second son.

Ashley and Courtney hosted a great shower!

The next day, Joel and I set aside to purchase some final items that were needed to complete (or semi-complete) the nursery.  After many requests for pictures, I can finally share at least one picture of the baby’s room.

A glimpse into our lives right now.  Neither one of us can believe how much I have grown over the past month.  Plus, it seems that our house has been taken over by baby aliens.  There is baby stuff in every room!  I’ll have more pictures of the room as we take them.

All of our upcoming appointments are on Tuesdays from here on out.  Thankfully Joel has been able to work his schedule around them so far to be able to be a part of them.  So for now, I’ll wrap up this update.  As you can imagine, there will be more to come.  🙂

5 responses to “4 more weeks

  1. Hetty says:

    WOW!!! Look at the belly!. Its amazing! I’m so excited and can’t wait to meet little Spencer. I’ll get to teach him all sorts of things. Like how to make Mommy laugh where no sound comes out and then to make Daddy roll his eyes. I do both of those things well. I love you guys and miss you. I wish I were closer I really want to see that baby. I’m totally coming up for Labor day, I mean the holiday not the actual day you go into Labor. 🙂 I love the picture of you and Joel in the baby’s room. It’s such a sweet picture.
    Talk to you soon. Hetty!

  2. Labeth Youngblood says:

    Kristin,
    I love the baby’s room, the color and the furniture. You look so beautiful!! You two are so blessed to have so many wonderful friends! I have been meaning to recommend our Toccoa photographer to you. Her name is Suni Shore, and she is on fb. She takes wonderful pics and you can see examples on her page. She did Bethany and Trace’s senior pics and our family pics last Oct. She is VERY reasonable and she is sooo good. Please keep us updated as the weeks get so short. It will be here before you know it!! I wish I could be there to get ahold of baby Spencer and just love on him!! Please take care!!
    Labeth

  3. "Aunt" Winola says:

    Dear Mommy and Daddy,
    That is the sweetest picture of you both! and that darling little boy is just PRECIOUS! He looks like both of you! How lucky to get such a great shot of him! I so enjoyed the pics and your update. Thank you and please keep them coming!

    Love, “aunt” Winola

  4. Harriet says:

    Grinning from ear-to-ear!!! ❤ I love you guys!!

  5. Heather Brogdon-Deweese says:

    Wow, only 4 weeks to go! I can’t believe it, it seems just the other day I got the call you were pregnant. I love the babies room and his crib, it’s so sweet! Thank you so much for taking the time to update all of us on your new adventure, it is such a joy to read! The next month is going to be super exciting as the anticipation grows for baby Spencer’s arrival. Get as much rest as you possibly can these next few weeks : ) You all are in our prayers~

Leave a Reply

