Unexpectedly Expecting

The Adventures of One Woman's Journey Into Motherhood

3 months already? Say it isn’t so!!

on November 21, 2011

Yes, that is correct.  Noah Daniel turned 3 months old on Saturday.  Wow!  It was so weird going to the hospital last week to see a friend whose baby was less than 24 hours old.  Obviously I didn’t get to hold him, but just looking at him made me realize truly how much Noah has grown in the past three months.  I honestly cried because I thought he would never be three months and then I thought he would never get bigger.  Two things that have already happened!

I am sitting in my study today with a light heart because I’m not sitting at a desk working.  Today is the day that I would have gone back to work.  Incredible to think how much God can change one’s thinking and priorities.  Our current status is that we are believing God to carry us.  We are truly walking in a new found faith that is requiring much belief because there is little we can do to change our circumstances.  I am not currently actively seeking a part-time job.  I have some “feelers” out but, for now, we are okay financially.  Basically, we’ve reevaluated our needs and wants and have decided to do some trimming to keep me home with Noah.

As I mentioned in my last post, Joel has been my biggest cheerleader to stay home with our son.  He has really picked up the pace and is pushing his business all over northeast Georgia.  He’s finding new customers everywhere and getting even more referrals from several of his longtime customers.  All-in-all God has really taken care of us and will continue to do so.

We took our longest trip so far to see my grandmother and Joel’s sister last weekend.  To say Noah did very well would be an understatement.  He had some breakdowns by the time we got to Joel’s sister’s on Sunday, but overall he travels very easily.  I can’t explain though how heartbroken I was when I put him in his car seat one last time… his big blue eyes just looked at me as if to say, “Mommy, do I have to get in here again?”  All three of us were overwhelmed with emotion once we got home.  And a decision was made that night… the “for sale” signs came down the next day.

Yes, we’ve decided to stay here for a while.  Although it’s not the ideal location, we truly feel like it’s home.  Joel and I cried our eyes out when we got home this time.  For the first time ever, we felt like we were exactly where God wanted us in this home.  Something about knowing that this is the only home Noah has ever known made us realize that we truly don’t want to change that for him right now.  Plus with me not working and Joel owning his own business, we just don’t want to run the risk that we couldn’t buy again if we sold our house.  So, whether or not we’re wanted here, we’ll be staying in Toccoa for now.  🙂

And to think… this time last year, we didn’t know we were having a baby yet.  Amazing the transformation that can happen in less than one year!  God is truly amazing!!  His ways are not our ways.  And as I sing to Noah often, our Abba Daddy loves us all like no one else can.  He promises to provide for our needs as long as we trust Him.

Noah has grown so much over the last couple of weeks.  For instance, sometimes he sings back to me when I sing to him, especially while I’m changing his diaper.  He’s really starting to want to crawl and loves tummy time… still only for brief moments, but they are getting longer each time.  🙂   Speaking of changing his diapers, I have maybe had two accidents since my last post.  He’s learned to stretch his legs when we pull the tabs and as soon as we pull them, he pulls his butt up!  It’s incredible to me how much he’s learning!!  🙂

Let’s see, laughing has become really routine with him, even though we still just love to make him laugh.  He’s drooling everywhere so we think he really is starting the teething process.  He can’t keep his hands out of his mouth at times.  And yes, he likes to “chew” on his entire fist instead of a finger.  He still hasn’t learned how to open his hands much to chew on a finger.

I can’t begin to express how blessed I am to be a mommy.  I love it… even when I get lonely for adult interaction.  I am so blessed to be married to a husband who is so supportive and loving and kind and thoughtful and everything in this world that I need him to be.  We are truly entering a new phase of our relationship.  I never thought having a baby would make us stronger as a couple.  I know we’ll have trying times in the future, but I also know that we have been through a lot of trying times together already.  And as long as we put ourselves aside and focus on Christ, He alone will be all the help we need.

I get long-winded at times and this seems to be one of those times.  So as always, here are more pictures of my precious baby and my son.  🙂

My happy little boy showing off his toothless grin.  He loves to play on his playmat!

Sometimes he’ll just fall asleep from playing so hard.  We thought this was indicative of his peaceful nature.  🙂  On a side note, he sleeps on average about 6 hours each night.  We’ve had several nights up to 9 hours!!  We are truly blessed!!!

Oh my!  Streaking at the doctor’s office?!  😉  He weighed a whopping 10 lb. 12 oz. two weeks ago today.  He got one shot that day… and I cried more than he did!  😛

One day, Joel decided to see if Noah would be interested in any children’s programs.  He played Timmy Time and Noah was mesmerized!  So much so, we ordered the dvds from the UK.

Yes, our son is very advanced for his age.  He can stand on his own!!  (He really was standing on his own without props.)  He thought this was great!

My sleeping boy taking a nap on the big boppy.  I just couldn’t resist taking a picture of him!

Enjoying some Chick-Fil-A on our way to my grandmother’s house.  Noah obviously just enjoyed eating his lunch as well.  🙂  We tried to pack his entire bedroom in the car, but only a few things would fit!  😉

Noah’s favorite past-time is flying through the air in Daddy’s arms.  Even if he was at a truck stop in Alabama…

Meeting Grandmother… he couldn’t have been any happier!

He sure did love meeting Aunt Sylvia too.

Saying goodbye to Grandmother.  Just after this shot was taken, he decided to spit up part of his breakfast.  😛

One of Noah’s few smiling moments for a while upon arriving at Aunt Rachel’s.  He definitely loved Jocelyn’s shirt!!

Joel decided to act like a kid again and ride Isaac’s bicycle.  He’s still feeling the effects.  🙂

“Please don’t eat me Uncle Dave!”  Noah loved meeting his aunt and uncle…

Almost as much as they loved meeting him!!

Noah was not sure how he felt about being the center of attention at times.  He’s taking it pretty well here.

While at a park on the way home in Montgomery, Daddy decided to take Noah on the playground.  One day we’ll be chasing him around the playground instead of holding him.  <sigh>

And finally, my favorite picture of Noah so far.  Still at the park, we decided to see how he’d do if we put him on the ground in the middle of these leaves.  He was perfect!

2 responses to “3 months already? Say it isn’t so!!

  1. Susan says:

    He is so cute – BTW if the outfit is too big take it back to Target and exchange it 🙂 Love to you all.

  2. Harriet says:

    I love you guys..you make my heart smile! ❤

Leave a Reply

