Unexpectedly Expecting

The Adventures of One Woman's Journey Into Motherhood

A one year old toddler

on September 6, 2012

Noah Daniel turned one year old one week ago.  To say things have been busy would be an understatement!  We have had an exciting week, month, year.  🙂

Let’s see… where to start…

The first of the month found us spending time in Clayton with Joel’s sister and her family from Alabama.  We had such a good time seeing all of the kids (4) interact with Noah in different ways.  Kennan, Joel’s nephew, spent the night with us one night and went fishing with Joel the next morning.  Hard to believe her kids are growing so quickly!!  We always have a good time with them whenever we are able to get together.

Obviously, we had a party for Noah’s birthday and it was great!  I made wayyyy too many cupcakes and bought wayyy too many hotdogs.  So other than having a hotdog and cupcake diet for the last week, it went pretty well.  Lots of people showed up to love on our little boy.  He was so overwhelmed by it all!!  However, I must say that he did amazing well considering that he really was in a very different environment for him.

The weather was fine for the party, although a bit too warm.  Noah ate his first iced cupcake and then a second one.  He devoured them both!!  He got TONS of toys and goodies that he now enjoys playing with.  Someone asked us the other night what his favorite toy was from his party.  I would have to say that he loves his books.  He has just discovered that he can go through his book bin and look at all of his books.  We even sat in there this morning while he pulled book after book out and went through them all.

He’s not walking yet, but will be soon enough.  He loves his stride-n-glide and walking holding our fingers.  At the party, we had some sandals on him.  But since he hadn’t worn shoes before, he wasn’t sure what to do.  He’s figured it out since then and loves walking outside.

Grandma and Grandpa Spencer spent the last week with us here, which Noah LOVED.  (Who wouldn’t want four people to give you their undivided attention for a week???)  It was a whirlwind to me, but I wouldn’t change it for anything.  Noah truly enjoyed having his grandparents here and spending so much time with them.  Joel and I even got to go on a couple of dates while they were here!!  I found myself giggling at one point because it truly felt like we were dating again.  It was WONDERFUL!

Noah weighed in at 19 lbs. 11 oz. last week.  He goes for his official doctor visit this week, so we’ll get an accurate weight then.  I thought for sure he would be 20 lbs. already but not yet.  The nurse mentioned that he was short for his age.  We’re praying he’ll sprout soon enough so he can play basketball!

No more teeth… yet.  He’s been drooling and chewing on everything he can find.  We’re guessing that a couple more teeth are just around the corner.  I had to make cloth protectors for the crib because he became part beaver one night.  We figured it out by accident that he was chewing the stain off the railing of his crib.  Joel started looking online and found some ideas.  I got them on just in time because he loves chewing on his crib!!

On a side note, I get the weekly updates from BabyCenter.com telling me what to kind of expect from Noah with each developing week.  Until last week, the title was always something like “Your Baby – Week XX.”  Now it says “Your Toddler – Week XX.”  I’m not sure I’m ready for this change.  Noah is, and always will be, my little baby boy.  He may be thirty and I’ll still see him as my little baby.  Even with all of the changes over the past year, I know so many more are yet to come.  Am I ready for this???  I don’t know if I have a choice.

Everyone told us that life only accelerates when we get older.  And then everyone told us that life goes into hyperspace with a child.  Can I slow it down somehow?  Even as some days seem like the same day on repeat, time passes by without even a glimpse from me.  There are days that I don’t even know what time it is, much less what day it is.  And now that my timeline of getting ready for his party is over, I feel like I’ve got to refocus and get back to what I know is necessary.  I say all of this to say that my vision has gotten blurry over the past year.  Not physically or spiritually but mentally.  I feel like at times that life is moving at such a rapid pace I must be living someone else’s life.  I know things don’t slow down from here but some days, I sure wish I could control the clock a little better and turn back time.

Challenged… my new favorite word.  As much as I have tried to roll with the changes this past year has brought, I’ve got to find a way to make sense of this new little “toddler” in my house and life.  What’s amazing to me is that God has given me the ability to sort of “glide” through the past year, almost like a passenger.  Every so often I’ll look around and realize that this is now my life and not someone else’s that I’m seeing.  This may not seem like much to you but to me… huge.

I’ve told people that I used to dream of not working (in a job) one day.  I used to sit at work and think of all the wonderful things I would do with my day if I didn’t have to work.  (Of course, that daydreaming never included a little man in my life, so it really is hard to make it relevant now.)  Fast forward to today.  Not how I imagined it but nothing I would change about it.  Make sense?  The only thing I would change is either where we live (so we could be closer to others that we love) or adding more people to our lives (so we have friends in our immediate area to connect with).  Other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing about my life.  In all of my daydreaming, I never imagined I would feel this way with a child in my life!

Once again, I’ve rambled far longer than intended.  And once again, I know you’re really not here for my mindless chatter but for the pictures of my sweet little boy.  So, once again… enjoy!  🙂

Noah’s cousin Jocelyn loved reading his Llama Llama books to him.

As soon as they arrived, Eryn was checking out all of Noah’s toys.

Kennan sure loved on Noah while we were there.  I still can’t believe he’s in 7th grade already!!

Isaac tried showing Noah how to play pool.  Noah’s still unsure of all the rules.  🙂

Uncle Joel being silly with the kids outside.

The whole gang in one place… which was a minor miracle considering the kids’ ages!!

Noah took a ride on a carousel for the first time.  He wasn’t too sure about it but did just fine the whole time.  Notice location of Max (his lovie) and paci!  🙂

Joel brought these down from the attic and Noah had fun playing with them.  He’s going to be our little drummer boy!

Noah decided to help me with sorting and organizing his big boy clothes by trying some on.  Looks like he’s ready for the cold weather!!

A regular occurrence these days… Noah standing on his own.  Just this morning he took a couple of steps too!

Noah loves standing at the back door looking out over the deck and watching our cat Sarah.  Joel decided to take him out and let him pet her on a clear afternoon.  He loved it!

Noah took another swim at Bibi’s pool recently.  He really had a good time this time around.

Noah and his two best friends, Jubilee and Mercy.  We’re super excited to meet the newest Kilgore baby, Nehemiah soon!!  Now Noah will have another little boy around!

Enjoying the evening at the park with Grandma and Grandpa Spencer.  Joel and his dad “had” to try out the toys Joel had bought for Noah’s party.

Noah enjoying his first birthday cupcake.  And when I say he devoured them, I mean he really devoured them!  (Thanks to my cousin Joy for taking pictures at the party!)

An overview of the party.

Waiting for lunch to start at the Dillard House, we went walking the grounds.  Noah started throwing his legs up in the air and holding them there while we were walking.  This is one for his future wife!!  🙂

Getting ready to chow like pigs, Noah was the first to actually eat that morning.  Once again, note where all attention is turned.  🙂

Noah and Grandpa checking out the bear pictures at Oconaluftee Park in Cherokee.

Getting ready to walk the farm grounds at the park.

Having fun in the river in Cherokee.  Once again, Noah proves how much he loves the water!

One response to “A one year old toddler

  1. Harriet says:

    Personally, I am here for the “chatter” FIRST. 🙂 Then of course all the beautiful pictures!!!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

