Unexpectedly Expecting

The Adventures of One Woman's Journey Into Motherhood

The Great Adventures of Noah D…

on April 1, 2013

Nineteen months have come and gone.  I apologize for not posting for Noah’s eighteen month birthday.  Some of you may already know the crazy busy month we have experienced.

Trying to think back to what has transpired over the past two months is difficult.  But I’ll see if I can successfully put into words all that has changed in Noah D’s life as well as ours.

First, in order to be completely transparent, I have had to return to taking my blood pressure medication after coming off of it for about three weeks.  Unfortunately, my blood pressure was rising too high to continue without it.  However, I have to say that I am now on only half a dose daily, which is still amazing progress.  I happened to find my handwritten prescription dated 10/12/10 for my medication, which I never had filled.  It was written for 40 mg of the medication to be taken daily, if my reading was correct.  I am now on only 10 mg of that medication and looking forward to taking even less (like none) by the end of the year!!  So that covers the full disclosure of my recent health.  🙂

Now on to Noah.  I glanced over the last blog and found that Noah had just cut two molars and was just starting to sign.  Wow!  I didn’t realize it was just January when that all happened.  He has since broken two eye teeth through with another two coming in soon.  He’s still the best teether around so I’m definitely not complaining.

Noah and I have had a few adventures in the past two months.  One day, while playing with friends at TFC, Noah decided to throw up all over me and him after eating his lunch.  Nice, right?  Well, then all the kids decided to play in the mud puddle.  Was very cute and fun for them, but Noah’s backup outfit is definitely not the best for photographing.  Joel said something like, “That’s an interesting outfit.”  But for those moms out there who read this, you know how it is.  You don’t want to put anything in the diaper bag that you want him/her to wear on a regular basis.  The outfit is not supposed to be seen, except in an emergency.  Too bad for Noah that on this day, the cameras were shooting pics faster than lightning.  And the pics have already been posted on FB for the entire world to see!  😛

Then we went to Elachee Nature Center in Oakwood with some more friends for a mommy and me morning.  Noah loved seeing the live hawks up close!!  Otherwise, he was just glad to be out of the house.

We all went to Gatlinburg for a two-night stay with some dear friends of ours.  We took a stroll downtown where Noah saw things he’s never seen before… and then he saw some more!  There were so many people there!!  We went swimming at the condo where we were staying.  They call it a therapy pool and it truly is because it was at least 85 degrees in the water!!  Noah loved it although his little diaper was fuller than we had ever even known it could be!!  (I wasn’t about to buy swimmers for him for one dunk in the pool!!)  Joel found being in Gatlinburg truly surreal as he remembered walking the sidewalks with his parents when he was little.  And now we had Noah in a stroller walking the same sidewalks.

Before that, we all went up to Bibi’s cabin in Clayton to stay the night with some friends of ours from North Carolina.  Noah loves going to the cabin!!  He especially enjoyed playing with his new friend Harriet.  🙂

Sounds like we’ve not been home much lately, but we have.  At least, Noah and Joel have.  I was blessed to go on a ladies’ retreat recently and spend some much-needed time with old and new friends.  And then, several friends of mine gave me a surprise overnight party at the cabin on that same weekend.

I was super excited to go to Le Cordon Bleu in Atlanta for the No Kid Hungry Baking Contest with a friend of mine.  We had a blast and really enjoyed sampling all of the creations.  I still think her cake was the best, but I know I’m a little biased.  (By the way, you can see the cake she made for the competition and one she made for my birthday on her FB at http://www.facebook.com/SweetDaisysCakes.  Be sure to like her page and/or pics.)

Speaking of my birthday, I had a fantastic 40th birthday this year.  The celebration never seemed to end!!  First, my hubby threw me a wonderful surprise party at Natalie Jane’s in Clarkesville with some of the best people in our lives!!  And then I had the surprise party at the cabin with more dear friends of mine.  Noah and Joel were the greatest at keeping everything a secret!  (Shout outs to Harriet & Frank, Raven, & Angie for long-distance driving to share my surprise with me!!)

Noah and Joel got me a really cute apron for my birthday, which is the perfect gift for me!!  Noah has decided that he LOVES to stand on a chair at the counter beside me when I’m fixing dinner.  In fact, he gets quite upset when he’s not able to for various reasons.  But when he does, he thoroughly enjoys watching me and making his own dinner with his spoons and bowls that we give him.  He’s tried several times to get to the knives.  Challenging to keep up with him while trying to make a meal but it’s worth it for him to have fun.

Another thing Noah loves doing right now is cleaning!  He absolutely loves to help us put things away.  We’re trying to teach him where things go like his clothes & trash.  Sometimes those get confused but not very often.

Noah’s not saying any new words.  We’re working on Grandma for their visit next month but right now it just comes out as “MA.”  Otherwise, Daddy and Mama are the only two words he can say for sure.  And now he knows which is which because we ask him all the time.

Ok, I have to dish on this one thing… which isn’t that what this whole blog is about anyway?  😉  He’s recently figured out that I’m Mama and Joel is Daddy and he is Noah.  So we’ll ask him, “Where’s Mama?” and he’ll point to me.  Same thing for Daddy and Noah.  Well, we decided to ask him where Jesus is and he raised him arms up to the sky!  We love it and are trying to teach him that Jesus is also in his heart.  But for now, we’ll keep asking as long as he’ll keep showing us.  🙂

I guess that’s enough for this blog.  I’m sure I’m missing something that will probably be lost in infamy.  For now, though, I think I’ve covered it all.  Picture time!

The place he loves more than anything else in the world... outside with his truck!

The place he loves more than anything else in the world… outside with his truck!

My little cutie patootie!!

My little cutie patootie!!

Hiking along Panther Creek before the rain came... 10 minutes later.  :)

Hiking along Panther Creek before the rain came… 10 minutes later. 🙂

Snack time in the tent.  Woohoo!

Snack time in the tent. Woohoo!

Noah playing the drum while Mommy tried percussion.

Noah playing the drum while Mommy tried percussion.

Noah holding Nehemiah... best buds already.

Noah holding Nehemiah… best buds already.

Helping Mommy get dinner ready.

Helping Mommy get dinner ready.

After dinner fun with Matt and Lauren.

After dinner fun with Matt and Lauren.

Playing the drums with Mommy at the Factory in NC.

Playing the drums with Mommy at the Factory in NC.

How much has he grown since we were there last summer?!?!

How much has he grown since we were there last summer?!?!

Noah and his animal friends in bed together.

Noah and his animal friends in bed together.

Trying to relive the old days... but I think he's too big for the bumbo now.

Trying to relive the old days… but I think he’s too big for the bumbo now.

If Noah didn't look like he does in this pic, this would be framed! Oh well. :)

If Noah didn’t look like he does in this pic, this would be framed! Oh well. 🙂

Reading with his new pal.

Reading with his new pal.

A fun weekend with Harriet and Frank from NC.

A fun weekend with Harriet and Frank from NC.

My surprise party at Natalie Jane's.

My surprise party at Natalie Jane’s.

Look Mommy... a worm!!

Look Mommy… a worm!!

Reading a book with Daddy.  Nothing better in the world!

Reading a book with Daddy. Nothing better in the world!

Holding Nehemiah... Noah's newest love to do thing!

Holding Nehemiah… Noah’s newest love to do thing!

Having fun in the mud with his new friend, Gabe.

Having fun in the mud with his new friend, Gabe.

Noah's new car seat... no more squished knees for our little man.

Noah’s new car seat… no more squished knees for our little man.

I'm gonna getcha!

I’m gonna getcha!

Raven made it to the cabin!!!  Such a rock star friend!

Raven made it to the cabin!!! Such a rock star friend!

Dear friends after a long night of talking.  I actually slept with that little man TWICE in one weekend!

Dear friends after a long night of talking. I actually slept with that little man TWICE in one weekend!

Mommy's little kitchen helper.

Mommy’s little kitchen helper.

This one's for you, Grandpa!

This one’s for you, Grandpa!

Enjoying Gatlinburg as a family.

Enjoying Gatlinburg as a family.

Mommy, which one did you say you wanted?  ;)

Mommy, which one did you say you wanted? 😉

Noah D. loves his animal friends... regardless of where they are.

Noah D. loves his animal friends… regardless of where they are.

Listening to a story about rabbits at Elachee Nature Center.

Listening to a story about rabbits at Elachee Nature Center.

Leave a Reply

